Laundry tags

Hard button laundry tags

Short answer

Rigid black PPS discs, 18, 20 or 25 mm across, sewn into linen and garments. The supplier states a read distance of up to 0.4 m with a fixed reader, and the same for all three sizes.
Models
3
Footprint
18 x 18 to 25 x 25 mm
Height
2.3 to 2.8 mm
Operating
-25 to +110 °C
Supplier-stated, across models
Stated read distance
0.4 m
Supplier-stated, 3 models, EIRP 4 W, surface not stated

1.0Construction

How this family is built

Typical construction of Hard button laundry tagsExploded view of the layers of Hard button laundry tags, from the top: PPS disc (upper); Antenna and chip; PPS disc (lower). Typical construction, not a specification; layers are not drawn to scale.PPS disc (upper)Antenna and chipPPS disc (lower)Typical construction, not a specification.Layers are not to scale.Family thickness 2.3 to 2.8 mm.
Layers of the family. Body: PPS disc.

A hard button tag puts the chip and antenna in a rigid disc. The records state a black PPS body, which is polyphenylene sulfide, a rigid engineering plastic, and a height of 2.3 to 2.8 mm. The records do not describe what is inside the disc, so this page makes no claim about the construction or the seal of the body.

A rigid body cannot flex with the fabric, so the disc is felt in the garment where a flat textile tag would not be. That trade is the reason to choose it: you accept a thicker, stiffer tag and a shorter stated read distance. Whether that is acceptable depends on where in the item the disc sits and on the reader at your portal, so test a sample in place.

2.0Choosing

Choose this family, or look elsewhere

Choose this family for

  • Items that need a rigid, coin-shaped body sewn in, where a close read is enough. The supplier states up to 0.4 m with a fixed reader and 0.1 m handheld.
  • Locations where a disc 18 to 25 mm across and 2.3 to 2.8 mm high fits better than a flat textile tag 15 to 17 mm wide.
  • Service up to 110 C. The supplier states an operating range of -25 to +110 C and a storage range of -40 to +120 C, which is a higher maximum than the storage range stated for the textile models (-40 to +85 C).

Look elsewhere when

  • The stated read distance is short, 0.4 m with a fixed reader and 0.1 m handheld, and both are supplier-stated. Choose a textile tag when items are read at a portal or a tunnel.
  • The same distance is stated for all three diameters, so the diameter tells you nothing about the read distance.
  • Sewing is the only attachment stated. There is no heat-seal, pouch or cable-tie fixing for the discs.
  • Wash life is stated as 200 cycles or 24 months from shipment, whichever comes first, and it is supplier-stated. Confirm it with a wash trial on your own items and your own process.

Selection rules

  1. Diameter follows the room available on the garment or item, 18, 20 or 25 mm. The stated distance does not change with it.
  2. All three list NXP UCODE 7 or UCODE 7m with 128 bit of EPC memory and no stated user memory. If you need user memory, look at other families.
  3. If you need more than the stated 0.4 m, choose a textile model. Read both on your own items before you decide.

3.0Models

The 3 hard button laundry tags

Hard button laundry tags: models with size, chip, mounting, band and stated read distance
ModelSizeHeightChip optionsMountingBandsStated read distance
Hard button laundry tag 18 mm dia. LHB-D18-S 18 mm diameter, 2.8 mm high 2.8 mm NXP UCODE 7, NXP UCODE 7m Sewn with thread FCC, ETSI up to 0.4 m EIRP 4 W, surface not stated. Supplier-stated.
Hard button laundry tag 20 mm dia. LHB-D20-S 20 mm diameter, 2.3 mm high 2.3 mm NXP UCODE 7, NXP UCODE 7m Sewn with thread FCC, ETSI up to 0.4 m EIRP 4 W, surface not stated. Supplier-stated.
Hard button laundry tag 25 mm dia. LHB-D25-S 25 mm diameter, 2.8 mm high 2.8 mm NXP UCODE 7, NXP UCODE 7m Sewn with thread FCC, ETSI up to 0.4 m EIRP 4 W, surface not stated. Supplier-stated.
How to read the distances in this table

Every distance is the supplier's upper figure, stated under the conditions in the last column, and TagBrio has not tested it. All the models state their leading distance on the same footing, so the figures may be compared with each other. A read on your own part with your own reader is the only reliable check.

4.0Compared

How it differs from a neighboring family

This family and its neighbors compared from their records. Temperature ranges span all models of a family and are supplier-stated
Family ModelsHeightFixing methods listedOperating rangeStorage rangeLists user memory
Hard button laundry tags (this page) 32.3 to 2.8 mmSewn with thread-25 to +110 °C-40 to +120 °C0 of 3
Textile laundry tags 61.5 mmSewn with thread, pouch or hem, heat seal and cable tie–-40 to +85 °C2 of 6

5.0Questions

Questions about this family

Answers quoted from the records

How big are hard button laundry tags?

The 3 models range from 18 mm diameter (LHB-D18-S) to 25 mm diameter (LHB-D25-S) in footprint, and from 2.3 mm to 2.8 mm in height. The model page of each gives its full size.

How far can hard button laundry tags be read?

3 of the 3 models state a distance under one footing (EIRP 4 W, surface not stated), from 0.4 m. All figures are supplier-stated and TagBrio has not tested them. A read on your own surface with your own reader is the only reliable check, and the request page offers a test kit.

How are hard button laundry tags attached?

Across the family the records list sewn with thread. The methods differ by model, so check the mounting row of the model you choose.

What temperatures do hard button laundry tags state?

The supplier states operating ranges within -25 to +110 °C and storage ranges within -40 to +120 °C across the models; individual models differ. Both are supplier-stated, and a storage range is not an operating range.

Why is the hard button read distance so short?

The supplier states up to 0.4 m (EIRP 4 W, surface not stated) for the discs, the shortest headline distance stated anywhere in this catalog. Choose a textile tag when you need a longer read, and confirm both on your own items.

Test it on your own surface

Samples are handled per request. The team confirms availability and terms by email.