Ceramic on-metal tags
Ceramic on-metal tag 10 mm dia. (MCE-D10-T)
Short answer
1.0At a glance
Shape and stated figures
Stated read distance
- up to 1.5 m EIRP 4 W, on metal Supplier-stated
- up to 0.5 m Handheld reader, ATID AT880, on metal Supplier-stated
Temperature
Storage temperature -30 to +110 °C Supplier-stated
Operating temperature -25 to +85 °C Supplier-stated
2.0Choosing
Choose the MCE-D10-T, or look elsewhere
In favor
- Choose it when the available surface is small: at 10 mm diameter it is the smallest of the 5 ceramic on-metal tags in the family that state a size.
- Choose it when you need user memory: the record states 512 bit of it next to 96 bit of EPC memory (supplier-stated).
- Choose it when height is tight: at 1.8 mm high it is the thinnest of the 5 ceramic on-metal tags.
Against
- Avoid it where the tag runs hotter than 85 °C in service: that is the stated operating maximum, and the higher storage figure of 110 °C is not an operating figure.
- Avoid it where it can be struck or dropped on a hard floor: the supplier marks this model as not rated for impact and says it cannot be slammed.
3.0Specifications
Specifications
| Model code | MCE-D10-T |
|---|---|
| Body material | ceramic |
| Color | black |
| Mounting | Adhesive tape |
| Marking and encoding options | Pre-encoding, Surface painting |
| Diameter and height | 10 mm diameter, 1.8 mm high |
|---|---|
| Weight | about 1 g |
| Chip options | Alien Higgs-3 |
|---|---|
| Frequency, FCC (US) | 902 to 928 MHz |
| Frequency, ETSI (EU, UK) | 865 to 868 MHz |
| Frequency, China | Band not stated |
| Memory | EPC 96 bit, user 512 bit |
| Read and write | EPC and user memory |
| Air interface | EPC Class 1 Gen 2; ISO 18000-6C |
| Power source | Passive, no battery |
| Read distance, up to | 1.5 m Supplier-stated EIRP 4 W, on metal |
| Read distance, up to | 0.5 m Supplier-stated Handheld reader, ATID AT880, on metal |
| Data retention | 50 years Supplier-stated |
| Storage temperature | -30 to +110 °C Supplier-stated |
|---|---|
| Operating temperature | -25 to +85 °C Supplier-stated |
| Storage humidity | 5 to 95 % RH Supplier-stated |
| Drop test | Not rated: impact-sensitive, handle with care Supplier-stated |
| Alcohol test | 95 % alcohol: passed Supplier-stated |
| Gasoline test | Passed Supplier-stated |
| Thermal shock test | -40 to +150 °C, 7 cycles, 48 h Supplier-stated Test conditions, not a rating |
| Temperature cycle test | -40 to +120 °C, 7 cycles, 48 h Supplier-stated Test conditions, not a rating |
| Packaging | bubble bag, carton |
|---|---|
| Supply format | Single pieces |
4.0Reading the figures
What the figures do and do not say
Next to its neighbors
MCE-D10-T comparisons below use supplier-stated records.
MCE-D10-T's supplier-stated headline is up to 1.5 m (EIRP 4 W, on metal).
MCE-D10-T's next larger catalog footprint is MCE-13x9-T (13 x 9 x 3 mm). MCE-D10-T to MCE-13x9-T: the 10 mm diameter round outline changes to 13 x 9 mm rectangular and height increases by 1.2 mm. Supplier-stated (EIRP 4 W, on metal): up to 1.5 m for MCE-D10-T; up to 1.8 m for MCE-13x9-T. Stated weight: MCE-D10-T about 1 g; MCE-13x9-T about 0.5 g.
Who states these figures
Every performance figure on this page is a supplier statement: read distance, wash life, temperature, tests, pressure and data retention. TagBrio has not tested them, and no test report, laboratory or standard is cited for them. A test envelope is a condition of a test, not a rating. Confirm each figure that matters to you on samples, on your own items and with your own reader.
5.0Mounting
How it is attached
-
General schematic of the method. It does not show this tag.
6.0Variants
Variants and chips
| Region | Band | Order suffix |
|---|---|---|
| FCC (US) | 902 to 928 MHz | FCC |
| ETSI (EU, UK) | 865 to 868 MHz | ETSI |
| China | Band not stated | Not stated |
| Chip | Memory published by the vendor | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Alien Higgs-3 | Not stated by the vendor | Alien Technology Higgs 3 product page Read on |
7.0Compared
Consider these instead, and compare the neighbors
| Model | Look at it when | What its record says |
|---|---|---|
| Ceramic on-metal tag 13 x 9 mm MCE-13x9-T | You need a longer stated read distance | MCE-13x9-T is 13 x 9 x 3 mm, the smallest model of the family that states more. Under the same stated footing (EIRP 4 W, on metal) it states 1.8 m against 1.5 m. |
| Plastic-housed on-metal tag 37 x 14 mm MHP-37x14-TF | The tag runs hotter than 85 °C in service | MHP-37x14-TF states an operating maximum of 115 °C and is 37 x 14 x 5.9 mm, in a different family. Under the same stated footing (EIRP 4 W, on metal) it states 3 m against 1.5 m. |
| Printable on-metal tag 60 x 25 mm MPR-60x25-T | Less than 1.8 mm of height is available | MPR-60x25-T is 1.25 mm high (60 x 25 x 1.25 mm), in a different family. |
| Specification | Ceramic on-metal tag 10 mm dia. MCE-D10-T This model | Ceramic on-metal tag 13 x 9 mm MCE-13x9-T | Ceramic on-metal tag 25 x 9 mm MCE-25x9-T | Ceramic on-metal tag 16 mm dia. MCE-D16-T |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diameter and height | 10 mm diameter, 1.8 mm high | 13 x 9 x 3 mm | 25 x 9 x 3 mm | 16 mm diameter, 2 mm high |
| Weight | about 1 g | about 0.5 g | about 0.5 g | about 1.5 g |
| Chip options | Alien Higgs-3 | Alien Higgs-3 | Alien Higgs-3 | Alien Higgs-3 |
| Memory | EPC 96 bit, user 512 bit | EPC 96 bit, user 512 bit | EPC 96 bit, user 512 bit | EPC 96 bit, user 512 bit |
| Mounting | Adhesive tape | Adhesive tape | Adhesive tape | Adhesive tape |
| Operating temperature | -25 to +85 °C Supplier-stated | -25 to +85 °C Supplier-stated | -25 to +85 °C Supplier-stated | -25 to +85 °C Supplier-stated |
8.0Questions
Questions about the MCE-D10-T
Answers quoted from the record
How far can the MCE-D10-T be read?
The supplier states up to 1.5 m (EIRP 4 W, on metal) and up to 0.5 m (ATID AT880 handheld, on metal). TagBrio has not tested either figure, so read a sample on your own part before you rely on them.
How is the MCE-D10-T attached?
The record lists adhesive tape. Confirm the fixing on your own material and surface before you order in volume.
What temperatures does the MCE-D10-T state?
The supplier states an operating range of -25 to +85 °C and a storage range of -30 to +110 °C. A storage range is not an operating range, and a test envelope is not a rating. Both are supplier-stated.
Which chip and memory does the MCE-D10-T list?
The record lists Alien Higgs-3. Memory: EPC 96 bit, user 512 bit (supplier-stated).
Which frequency variants does the MCE-D10-T come in?
FCC at 902 to 928 MHz and ETSI at 865 to 868 MHz. The record also names China but states no band, so this page lists none. Say which region the tags will be read in when you ask for a quote.
Can the MCE-D10-T be encoded or marked?
The record lists pre-encoding and surface painting. Ask the team which combination is available for your order.
Test it on your own surface
Samples are handled per request. The team confirms availability and terms by email.