FR4 on-metal tags
FR4 on-metal tag 50 x 10 mm (MFR-50x10-TF)
Short answer
1.0At a glance
Shape and stated figures
Stated read distance
- up to 3 m Fixed reader, Alien 9900, EIRP 4 W, on metal Supplier-stated
- up to 1.8 m Handheld reader, Alien 9011, on metal Supplier-stated
Temperature
Storage temperature -40 to +110 °C Supplier-stated
Operating temperature -25 to +70 °C Supplier-stated
2.0Choosing
Choose the MFR-50x10-TF, or look elsewhere
In favor
- Choose it when read distance drives the decision: it states up to 3 m (EIRP 4 W, on metal), the 4th longest of the 19 FR4 on-metal tags that state that footing (they range from 0.5 m to 6.5 m).
- Choose it when tape alone is not enough: the record lists screw, rivet and glue as well as adhesive tape.
Against
- Avoid it when you need user memory: the record states EPC memory only.
- Avoid it where the tag runs hotter than 70 °C in service: that is the stated operating maximum, and the higher storage figure of 110 °C is not an operating figure.
3.0Specifications
Specifications
| Model code | MFR-50x10-TF |
|---|---|
| Body material | FR4 |
| Color | black |
| Mounting | Screw, Rivet, Glue, Adhesive tape |
| Marking and encoding options | Pre-encoding, Laser marking, Logo printing, Surface pattern, Surface painting, Surface printing |
| Size (L x W x H) | 50 x 10 x 3 mm |
|---|
| Chip options | NXP UCODE 8 |
|---|---|
| Frequency, FCC (US) | 902 to 928 MHz |
| Frequency, ETSI (EU, UK) | 865 to 868 MHz |
| Frequency, China | Band not stated |
| Memory | EPC 128 bit |
| Read and write | Yes, memory banks not stated |
| Air interface | EPC Class 1 Gen 2; ISO 18000-6C |
| Power source | Passive, no battery |
| Read distance, up to | 3 m Supplier-stated Fixed reader, Alien 9900, EIRP 4 W, on metal |
| Read distance, up to | 1.8 m Supplier-stated Handheld reader, Alien 9011, on metal |
| Data retention | 50 years Supplier-stated |
| Storage temperature | -40 to +110 °C Supplier-stated |
|---|---|
| Operating temperature | -25 to +70 °C Supplier-stated |
| Storage humidity | 5 to 95 % RH Supplier-stated |
| Drop test | 1 m, 200 drops: passed Supplier-stated |
| Alcohol test | 95 % alcohol: passed Supplier-stated |
| Gasoline test | Passed Supplier-stated |
| Thermal shock test | -40 to +70 °C, 7 cycles, 48 h Supplier-stated Test conditions, not a rating |
| Temperature cycle test | -40 to +70 °C, 7 cycles, 48 h Supplier-stated Test conditions, not a rating |
| Packaging | bubble bag, carton |
|---|---|
| Supply format | Single pieces |
4.0Reading the figures
What the figures do and do not say
Next to its neighbors
MFR-50x10-TF comparisons below use supplier-stated records.
MFR-50x10-TF's supplier-stated headline is up to 3 m (EIRP 4 W, on metal).
MFR-50x10-TF's next smaller catalog footprint is MFR-36x13-TF (36 x 13 x 3 mm). MFR-50x10-TF to MFR-36x13-TF: length decreases by 14 mm and width increases by 3 mm. Supplier-stated (EIRP 4 W, on metal): up to 3 m for MFR-50x10-TF; up to 2 m for MFR-36x13-TF. Chip selection changes from MFR-50x10-TF's NXP UCODE 8 to MFR-36x13-TF's Impinj Monza 4QT. Operating maxima: MFR-50x10-TF 70 °C; MFR-36x13-TF 85 °C (supplier-stated).
MFR-50x10-TF's next larger catalog footprint is MFR-53x13-T (53 x 13 x 3.4 mm). MFR-50x10-TF to MFR-53x13-T: length increases by 3 mm, width increases by 3 mm and height increases by 0.4 mm. Supplier-stated (EIRP 4 W, on metal): up to 3 m for MFR-50x10-TF; up to 3 m for MFR-53x13-T. The Alien 9011 handheld, on metal entry is up to 1.8 m for MFR-50x10-TF, against 1.5 m for MFR-53x13-T (supplier-stated). Replacing MFR-50x10-TF with MFR-53x13-T loses the listed screw, rivet and glue options; MFR-53x13-T lists adhesive tape. Chip selection changes from MFR-50x10-TF's NXP UCODE 8 to MFR-53x13-T's Impinj Monza 4QT.
Who states these figures
Every performance figure on this page is a supplier statement: read distance, wash life, temperature, tests, pressure and data retention. TagBrio has not tested them, and no test report, laboratory or standard is cited for them. A test envelope is a condition of a test, not a rating. Confirm each figure that matters to you on samples, on your own items and with your own reader.
5.0Mounting
How it is attached
-
General schematic of the method. It does not show this tag. -
General schematic of the method. It does not show this tag. -
General schematic of the method. It does not show this tag. -
General schematic of the method. It does not show this tag.
6.0Variants
Variants and chips
| Region | Band | Order suffix |
|---|---|---|
| FCC (US) | 902 to 928 MHz | FCC |
| ETSI (EU, UK) | 865 to 868 MHz | ETSI |
| China | Band not stated | Not stated |
| Chip | Memory published by the vendor | Source |
|---|---|---|
| NXP UCODE 8 | EPC 128 bit, no user memory | NXP UCODE 8 and UCODE 8m product page Read on |
7.0Compared
Consider these instead, and compare the neighbors
| Model | Look at it when | What its record says |
|---|---|---|
| FR4 on-metal tag 80 x 20 mm MFR-80x20-TF | You need a longer stated read distance | MFR-80x20-TF is 80 x 20 x 3 mm, the smallest model of the family that states more. Under the same stated footing (EIRP 4 W, on metal) it states 5 m against 3 m. |
| FR4 on-metal tag 36 x 13 mm MFR-36x13-TF | The available surface is smaller than 50 x 10 mm | MFR-36x13-TF is 36 x 13 x 3 mm, the next smaller model in the family. Under the same stated footing (EIRP 4 W, on metal) it states 2 m against 3 m. |
| Ceramic on-metal tag 16 mm dia. MCE-D16-T | Less than 3 mm of height is available | MCE-D16-T is 2 mm high (16 mm diameter, 2 mm high), in a different family. Under the same stated footing (EIRP 4 W, on metal) it states 2.5 m against 3 m. |
| Specification | FR4 on-metal tag 50 x 10 mm MFR-50x10-TF This model | FR4 on-metal tag 36 x 13 mm MFR-36x13-TF | FR4 on-metal tag 90 x 5 mm MFR-90x5-TF | FR4 on-metal tag 53 x 13 mm MFR-53x13-T |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Size (L x W x H) | 50 x 10 x 3 mm | 36 x 13 x 3 mm | 90 x 5 x 3 mm | 53 x 13 x 3.4 mm |
| Weight | Not stated | about 2 g | Not stated | Not stated |
| Chip options | NXP UCODE 8 | Impinj Monza 4QT | Impinj Monza 4QT | Impinj Monza 4QT |
| Memory | EPC 128 bit | EPC 128 bit, user 496 bit | EPC 128 bit, user 496 bit | EPC 128 bit |
| Mounting | Screw, Rivet, Glue, Adhesive tape | Screw, Rivet, Glue, Adhesive tape | Screw, Rivet, Glue, Adhesive tape | Adhesive tape |
| Operating temperature | -25 to +70 °C Supplier-stated | -25 to +85 °C Supplier-stated | -25 to +85 °C Supplier-stated | -25 to +70 °C Supplier-stated |
8.0Questions
Questions about the MFR-50x10-TF
Answers quoted from the record
How far can the MFR-50x10-TF be read?
The supplier states up to 3 m (EIRP 4 W, on metal) and up to 1.8 m (Alien 9011 handheld, on metal). TagBrio has not tested either figure, so read a sample on your own part before you rely on them.
How is the MFR-50x10-TF attached?
The record lists adhesive tape, screw, rivet and glue. Confirm the fixing on your own material and surface before you order in volume.
What temperatures does the MFR-50x10-TF state?
The supplier states an operating range of -25 to +70 °C and a storage range of -40 to +110 °C. A storage range is not an operating range, and a test envelope is not a rating. Both are supplier-stated.
Which chip and memory does the MFR-50x10-TF list?
The record lists NXP UCODE 8. Memory: EPC 128 bit (supplier-stated).
Which frequency variants does the MFR-50x10-TF come in?
FCC at 902 to 928 MHz and ETSI at 865 to 868 MHz. The record also names China but states no band, so this page lists none. Say which region the tags will be read in when you ask for a quote.
Can the MFR-50x10-TF be encoded or marked?
The record lists pre-encoding, laser marking, logo printing, surface pattern, surface painting and surface printing. Ask the team which combination is available for your order.
Test it on your own surface
Samples are handled per request. The team confirms availability and terms by email.