FR4 on-metal tags
FR4 on-metal tag 5 mm dia. (MFR-D5-T)
Short answer
1.0At a glance
Shape and stated figures
Stated read distance
- up to 0.5 m EIRP 4 W, on metal Supplier-stated
- up to 0.1 m Handheld reader, ATID AT880, on metal Supplier-stated
Temperature
Storage temperature -30 to +110 °C Supplier-stated
Operating temperature -25 to +85 °C Supplier-stated
2.0Choosing
Choose the MFR-D5-T, or look elsewhere
In favor
- Choose it when the available surface is small: at 5 mm diameter it is the smallest of the 19 FR4 on-metal tags in the family that state a size.
Against
- Avoid it when you need more than 0.5 m of read distance: that is its stated figure (EIRP 4 W, on metal), and 17 of the 19 FR4 on-metal tags that state that footing state more, up to 6.5 m.
- Avoid it when you want to fix it by screw, rivet or glue: the record lists adhesive tape only.
- Avoid it when you need user memory: the record states EPC memory only.
- Avoid it where the tag runs hotter than 85 °C in service: that is the stated operating maximum, and the higher storage figure of 110 °C is not an operating figure.
3.0Specifications
Specifications
| Model code | MFR-D5-T |
|---|---|
| Body material | FR4 |
| Color | black |
| Mounting | Adhesive tape |
| Marking and encoding options | Pre-encoding, Surface painting |
| Diameter and height | 5 mm diameter, 3 mm high |
|---|---|
| Weight | about 0.5 g |
| Chip options | NXP UCODE 8 |
|---|---|
| Frequency, FCC (US) | 902 to 928 MHz |
| Frequency, ETSI (EU, UK) | 865 to 868 MHz |
| Frequency, China | Band not stated |
| Memory | EPC 128 bit |
| Read and write | EPC and user memory |
| Air interface | EPC Class 1 Gen 2; ISO 18000-6C |
| Power source | Passive, no battery |
| Read distance, up to | 0.5 m Supplier-stated EIRP 4 W, on metal |
| Read distance, up to | 0.1 m Supplier-stated Handheld reader, ATID AT880, on metal |
| Data retention | 50 years Supplier-stated |
| Storage temperature | -30 to +110 °C Supplier-stated |
|---|---|
| Operating temperature | -25 to +85 °C Supplier-stated |
| Storage humidity | 5 to 95 % RH Supplier-stated |
| Drop test | 1 m, 200 drops: passed Supplier-stated |
| Alcohol test | 95 % alcohol: passed Supplier-stated |
| Gasoline test | Passed Supplier-stated |
| Thermal shock test | -40 to +150 °C, 7 cycles, 48 h Supplier-stated Test conditions, not a rating |
| Temperature cycle test | -40 to +120 °C, 7 cycles, 48 h Supplier-stated Test conditions, not a rating |
| Packaging | bubble bag, carton |
|---|---|
| Supply format | Single pieces |
4.0Reading the figures
What the figures do and do not say
Next to its neighbors
MFR-D5-T comparisons below use supplier-stated records.
MFR-D5-T and MFR-9x4-T share a supplier-stated read ceiling of 0.5 m (EIRP 4 W, on metal).
MFR-D5-T's next larger catalog footprint is MFR-9x4-T (9.4 x 4.3 x 1.6 mm). MFR-D5-T to MFR-9x4-T: the 5 mm diameter round outline changes to 9.4 x 4.3 mm rectangular and height decreases by 1.4 mm. Chip selection changes from MFR-D5-T's NXP UCODE 8 to MFR-9x4-T's NXP UCODE 7m. Stated weight: MFR-D5-T about 0.5 g; MFR-9x4-T about 1 g.
Who states these figures
Every performance figure on this page is a supplier statement: read distance, wash life, temperature, tests, pressure and data retention. TagBrio has not tested them, and no test report, laboratory or standard is cited for them. A test envelope is a condition of a test, not a rating. Confirm each figure that matters to you on samples, on your own items and with your own reader.
5.0Mounting
How it is attached
-
General schematic of the method. It does not show this tag.
6.0Variants
Variants and chips
| Region | Band | Order suffix |
|---|---|---|
| FCC (US) | 902 to 928 MHz | FCC |
| ETSI (EU, UK) | 865 to 868 MHz | ETSI |
| China | Band not stated | Not stated |
| Chip | Memory published by the vendor | Source |
|---|---|---|
| NXP UCODE 8 | EPC 128 bit, no user memory | NXP UCODE 8 and UCODE 8m product page Read on |
7.0Compared
Consider these instead, and compare the neighbors
| Model | Look at it when | What its record says |
|---|---|---|
| FR4 on-metal tag 10 x 5 mm MFR-10x5-T | You need a longer stated read distance | MFR-10x5-T is 10 x 5 x 3 mm, the smallest model of the family that states more. Under the same stated footing (EIRP 4 W, on metal) it states 1 m against 0.5 m. |
| FR4 on-metal tag 90 x 5 mm MFR-90x5-TF | Tape alone is not acceptable | MFR-90x5-TF lists adhesive tape, screw, rivet and glue and is 90 x 5 x 3 mm. Under the same stated footing (EIRP 4 W, on metal) it states 2 m against 0.5 m. |
| FR4 on-metal tag 10 mm dia. MFR-D10-T | You need user memory | MFR-D10-T states 496 bit of user memory and is 10 mm diameter, 3 mm high. |
| Plastic-housed on-metal tag 37 x 14 mm MHP-37x14-TF | The tag runs hotter than 85 °C in service | MHP-37x14-TF states an operating maximum of 115 °C and is 37 x 14 x 5.9 mm, in a different family. Under the same stated footing (EIRP 4 W, on metal) it states 3 m against 0.5 m. |
| Specification | FR4 on-metal tag 5 mm dia. MFR-D5-T This model | FR4 on-metal tag 9.4 x 4.3 mm MFR-9x4-T | FR4 on-metal tag 10 x 5 mm MFR-10x5-T | FR4 on-metal tag 12 x 7 mm MFR-12x7-T |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diameter and height | 5 mm diameter, 3 mm high | 9.4 x 4.3 x 1.6 mm | 10 x 5 x 3 mm | 12 x 7 x 3 mm |
| Weight | about 0.5 g | about 1 g | about 1 g | about 1 g |
| Chip options | NXP UCODE 8 | NXP UCODE 7m | NXP UCODE 8 | NXP UCODE 8 |
| Memory | EPC 128 bit | Not stated | EPC 128 bit | EPC 128 bit |
| Mounting | Adhesive tape | Adhesive tape | Adhesive tape | Adhesive tape |
| Operating temperature | -25 to +85 °C Supplier-stated | -25 to +85 °C Supplier-stated | -25 to +85 °C Supplier-stated | -25 to +85 °C Supplier-stated |
8.0Questions
Questions about the MFR-D5-T
Answers quoted from the record
How far can the MFR-D5-T be read?
The supplier states up to 0.5 m (EIRP 4 W, on metal) and up to 0.1 m (ATID AT880 handheld, on metal). TagBrio has not tested either figure, so read a sample on your own part before you rely on them.
How is the MFR-D5-T attached?
The record lists adhesive tape. Confirm the fixing on your own material and surface before you order in volume.
What temperatures does the MFR-D5-T state?
The supplier states an operating range of -25 to +85 °C and a storage range of -30 to +110 °C. A storage range is not an operating range, and a test envelope is not a rating. Both are supplier-stated.
Which chip and memory does the MFR-D5-T list?
The record lists NXP UCODE 8. Memory: EPC 128 bit (supplier-stated).
Which frequency variants does the MFR-D5-T come in?
FCC at 902 to 928 MHz and ETSI at 865 to 868 MHz. The record also names China but states no band, so this page lists none. Say which region the tags will be read in when you ask for a quote.
Can the MFR-D5-T be encoded or marked?
The record lists pre-encoding and surface painting. Ask the team which combination is available for your order.
Test it on your own surface
Samples are handled per request. The team confirms availability and terms by email.