Plastic-housed on-metal tags
Plastic-housed on-metal tag 46 x 31 mm (MHP-46x31-TF)
Short answer
1.0At a glance
Shape and stated figures
Stated read distance
- up to 6 m EIRP 4 W, on metal Supplier-stated
- up to 2.5 m Handheld reader, ATID AT880, on metal Supplier-stated
Temperature
Storage temperature -45 to +200 °C Supplier-stated
Operating temperature -25 to +95 °C Supplier-stated
2.0Choosing
Choose the MHP-46x31-TF, or look elsewhere
In favor
- Choose it when the available surface is small: at 46 x 31 mm it is the 3rd smallest of the 7 plastic-housed on-metal tags in the family that state a size.
- Choose it when read distance drives the decision: it states up to 6 m (EIRP 4 W, on metal), the 3rd longest of the 7 plastic-housed on-metal tags that state that footing (they range from 3 m to 12 m).
- Choose it when tape alone is not enough: the record lists screw, rivet and glue as well as adhesive tape.
Against
- Avoid it where the tag runs hotter than 95 °C in service: that is the stated operating maximum, and the higher storage figure of 200 °C is not an operating figure.
3.0Specifications
Specifications
| Model code | MHP-46x31-TF |
|---|---|
| Body material | plastic (resin not stated) |
| Color | black |
| Mounting | Screw, Rivet, Glue, Adhesive tape |
| Marking and encoding options | Pre-encoding, Laser marking, Logo printing |
| Size (L x W x H) | 46 x 31 x 7.5 mm |
|---|---|
| Mounting hole diameter | 3.2 mm |
| Weight | about 21 g |
| Chip options | Alien Higgs-3 |
|---|---|
| Frequency, FCC (US) | 902 to 928 MHz |
| Frequency, ETSI (EU, UK) | 865 to 868 MHz |
| Frequency, China | Band not stated |
| Read and write | EPC and user memory |
| Air interface | EPC Class 1 Gen 2; ISO 18000-6C |
| Power source | Passive, no battery |
| Read distance, up to | 6 m Supplier-stated EIRP 4 W, on metal |
| Read distance, up to | 2.5 m Supplier-stated Handheld reader, ATID AT880, on metal |
| Data retention | 50 years Supplier-stated |
| Storage temperature | -45 to +200 °C Supplier-stated |
|---|---|
| Operating temperature | -25 to +95 °C Supplier-stated |
| Storage humidity | 5 to 95 % RH Supplier-stated |
| Drop test | 1 m, 100 drops: passed Supplier-stated |
| Alcohol test | 95 % alcohol: passed Supplier-stated |
| Gasoline test | Passed Supplier-stated |
| Thermal shock test | -40 to +150 °C, 7 cycles, 48 h Supplier-stated Test conditions, not a rating |
| Temperature cycle test | -40 to +150 °C, 7 cycles, 48 h Supplier-stated Test conditions, not a rating |
| Packaging | bubble bag, carton |
|---|---|
| Supply format | Single pieces |
4.0Reading the figures
What the figures do and do not say
Next to its neighbors
MHP-46x31-TF comparisons below use supplier-stated records.
MHP-46x31-TF's supplier-stated headline is up to 6 m (EIRP 4 W, on metal).
MHP-46x31-TF's next smaller catalog footprint is MHP-37x14-TF (37 x 14 x 5.9 mm). MHP-46x31-TF to MHP-37x14-TF: length decreases by 9 mm, width decreases by 17 mm and height decreases by 1.6 mm. Supplier-stated (EIRP 4 W, on metal): up to 6 m for MHP-46x31-TF; up to 3 m for MHP-37x14-TF. The ATID AT880 handheld, on metal entry is up to 2.5 m for MHP-46x31-TF, against 1.2 m for MHP-37x14-TF (supplier-stated). Operating maxima: MHP-46x31-TF 95 °C; MHP-37x14-TF 115 °C (supplier-stated). Stated weight: MHP-46x31-TF about 21 g; MHP-37x14-TF about 6.5 g.
MHP-46x31-TF's next larger catalog footprint is MHP-85x20-TF (85 x 20 x 11 mm). MHP-46x31-TF to MHP-85x20-TF: length increases by 39 mm, width decreases by 11 mm and height increases by 3.5 mm. Supplier-stated (EIRP 4 W, on metal): up to 6 m for MHP-46x31-TF; up to 6 m for MHP-85x20-TF. The ATID AT880 handheld, on metal entry is up to 2.5 m for MHP-46x31-TF, against 4 m for MHP-85x20-TF (supplier-stated). Chip selection changes from MHP-46x31-TF's Alien Higgs-3 to MHP-85x20-TF's Impinj Monza 4QT. Operating maxima: MHP-46x31-TF 95 °C; MHP-85x20-TF 70 °C (supplier-stated). Stated weight: MHP-46x31-TF about 21 g; MHP-85x20-TF about 10 g.
Who states these figures
Every performance figure on this page is a supplier statement: read distance, wash life, temperature, tests, pressure and data retention. TagBrio has not tested them, and no test report, laboratory or standard is cited for them. A test envelope is a condition of a test, not a rating. Confirm each figure that matters to you on samples, on your own items and with your own reader.
5.0Mounting
How it is attached
-
General schematic of the method. It does not show this tag. -
General schematic of the method. It does not show this tag. -
General schematic of the method. It does not show this tag. -
General schematic of the method. It does not show this tag.
6.0Variants
Variants and chips
| Region | Band | Order suffix |
|---|---|---|
| FCC (US) | 902 to 928 MHz | FCC |
| ETSI (EU, UK) | 865 to 868 MHz | ETSI |
| China | Band not stated | Not stated |
| Chip | Memory published by the vendor | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Alien Higgs-3 | Not stated by the vendor | Alien Technology Higgs 3 product page Read on |
7.0Compared
Consider these instead, and compare the neighbors
| Model | Look at it when | What its record says |
|---|---|---|
| Plastic-housed on-metal tag 155 x 30 mm MHP-155x30-TF | You need a longer stated read distance | MHP-155x30-TF is 155 x 30 x 10 mm, the smallest model of the family that states more. Under the same stated footing (EIRP 4 W, on metal) it states 12 m against 6 m. |
| Plastic-housed on-metal tag 37 x 14 mm MHP-37x14-TF | The available surface is smaller than 46 x 31 mm | MHP-37x14-TF is 37 x 14 x 5.9 mm, the next smaller model in the family. Under the same stated footing (EIRP 4 W, on metal) it states 3 m against 6 m. |
| FR4 on-metal tag 70 x 20 mm MFR-70x20-TF | Less than 7.5 mm of height is available | MFR-70x20-TF is 3.4 mm high (70 x 20 x 3.4 mm), in a different family. Under the same stated footing (EIRP 4 W, on metal) it states 3 m against 6 m. |
| Specification | Plastic-housed on-metal tag 46 x 31 mm MHP-46x31-TF This model | Plastic-housed on-metal tag 85 x 20 mm MHP-85x20-TF | Plastic-housed on-metal tag 70 x 25 mm MHP-70x25-TF | Plastic-housed on-metal tag 37 x 14 mm MHP-37x14-TF |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Size (L x W x H) | 46 x 31 x 7.5 mm | 85 x 20 x 11 mm | 70 x 25 x 5 mm | 37 x 14 x 5.9 mm |
| Weight | about 21 g | about 10 g | about 5 g | about 6.5 g |
| Chip options | Alien Higgs-3 | Impinj Monza 4QT, Impinj Monza R6 | NXP UCODE 7m, NXP UCODE 8 | Alien Higgs-3 |
| Memory by chip | Not stated | Not stated | NXP UCODE 7m: EPC 96 bit, user 32 bit; NXP UCODE 8: EPC 128 bit, no user memory | Not stated |
| Mounting | Screw, Rivet, Glue, Adhesive tape | Screw, Rivet, Glue, Adhesive tape | Screw, Rivet, Glue, Adhesive tape | Screw, Rivet, Glue, Adhesive tape |
| Operating temperature | -25 to +95 °C Supplier-stated | -25 to +70 °C Supplier-stated | -40 to +70 °C Supplier-stated | -25 to +115 °C Supplier-stated |
8.0Questions
Questions about the MHP-46x31-TF
Answers quoted from the record
How far can the MHP-46x31-TF be read?
The supplier states up to 6 m (EIRP 4 W, on metal) and up to 2.5 m (ATID AT880 handheld, on metal). TagBrio has not tested either figure, so read a sample on your own part before you rely on them.
How is the MHP-46x31-TF attached?
The record lists adhesive tape, screw, rivet and glue. A 3.2 mm mounting hole is listed. Confirm the fixing on your own material and surface before you order in volume.
What temperatures does the MHP-46x31-TF state?
The supplier states an operating range of -25 to +95 °C and a storage range of -45 to +200 °C. A storage range is not an operating range, and a test envelope is not a rating. Both are supplier-stated.
Which chip and memory does the MHP-46x31-TF list?
The record lists Alien Higgs-3.
Which frequency variants does the MHP-46x31-TF come in?
FCC at 902 to 928 MHz and ETSI at 865 to 868 MHz. The record also names China but states no band, so this page lists none. Say which region the tags will be read in when you ask for a quote.
Can the MHP-46x31-TF be encoded or marked?
The record lists pre-encoding, laser marking and logo printing. Ask the team which combination is available for your order.
Test it on your own surface
Samples are handled per request. The team confirms availability and terms by email.